top of page
Search
Writer's pictureDundee & Angus ACEs Hub

Why I feel ACE Awareness is key

There have been some great discussions on social media recently about ACE awareness and is it a good thing? I can tell you of my own personal experience. Watching the resilience documentary was like a mindset shift for me. After watching it and learning so much from Suzanne Zeedyk and others I think - "Wow, my kids are looking for connection". I realise now that their behaviour is not personal or about me but about them needing connection or support. The impact has been huge in my house and if this is happening in other households too then why is it wrong as a population to become ACE aware?

I have only seen positives come from the ACE aware movement. I've been able to post on the various ACE hub Facebook groups asking questions knowing I will not be judged by the group. The support from local individuals with personal experiences has been invaluable. Our local group (Dundee and Angus ACEs Hub) has run various events and the feedback has been so positive from each of them. We've met some wonderful people and heard of real stories of resilience and I feel honoured that people want to share their stories with us. I went to the immersive afternoon and ACE Aware conference with people I had met through Dundee and Angus ACEs hub and came home with friends.

As a parent you do the best with what you know and I didn't know about the effect of trauma on our biology or DNA. I didn't know about connection. I could get really angry about the fact no-one told me, this information was around 20+ years ago, why didn't I know? Maybe then I could have protected my children or been a better buffer to them. However instead I will focus on what I know now and help to let other parents know too.

Melanie Atkins



70 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page